IEM mix from stage

• Members

ok so my band had a gig the other night where the sound guy screwed the monitoring so bad it was unbelievable. he was looking at his console like the thing grew new knobs. just a kid, and probably new, but still... we pulled it off, but it wasn't too easy.

since that night, I've been thinking of IEMs for the band. I'm pretty sound savy, but I'm thinking of something a little different. I would like to control the IEM mix my self from stage so we don't have to ask the sound guy multible times over the PA to turn the guitar down.

let me know how close I am... I would keep a small mixer (all I care about is the aux sends for the IEMs) run the mics into my mixer, bring up the pre's up at my end, set the faders to unity, then run line out into the FOH stage snake to never touch the source faders again for the rest of the show.

I've never used IEMs before. I'm the drummer, and I'm not worried about hearing my self, but the band may have an issue with that. would you guys run drums through the IEMs? maybe just overheads? with just bass guitar and vocals it's a simple plan. what I don't want is to drag out our set up time, and over complicate things for FOH

I ran a couple searches and didn't find anything. I hope this isn't too common of a subject...

• Members

I would keep a small mixer (all I care about is the aux sends for the IEMs) run the mics into my mixer, bring up the pre's up at my end, set the faders to unity, then run line out into the FOH stage snake to never touch the source faders again for the rest of the show.

Unless you own the FOH system and the SE is your BE that ain't gonna fly. You need something like this:

http://www.whirlwindusa.com/split.html#sbsplit

and two 16 xlr-xlr snakes to connect it to the FOH snake and your stage monitor board.

• Members

Yeah, you and the house need a dedicated split.