A&H ZED-436 Vs A&H GL2400-32

• Members

I need some input to get new mixer. Reading in here majority lean to A&H mixer.

I sort it out that I got A&H ZED-436, and A&H GL2400-32. I need true

24- 32 mics input + other extra stereo input if it come with, 6 Aux, 4 bus.

What i understand

1/ ZED = has USB and can be use as recording, and 2 Matrix ( what is it and how it work ) I'm still not clear.

2/ GL 2400 = can use as Main mix and Monitor mix, and 7 Matrix again what difference 2 matrix and 7 matrix

I'm very new with A&H mixer. How is quality of sound ( EQ tunning for clarity VOCAL before start feedback ), how is it last compare with other brand. I have Mackie SR24-4 VLZ last for me since 1995 now I got hum sound come out from mixer ( not because grounding from system )

Any input will appreciated, and thanks in advance

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

As A&H said ZED EQ is from GL series.Is it mean ZED has exact quality and feature from GL series ?

About ZED USB ".... Auxes 1&2 can be sent to the USB bus for recording pre-fade signals independently to the main mix.... " So how it work ?

Can it record while the band playing live ? If YES , then

Example:

Using ZED for live band all hook into XLR input : 1 mic vocal, 1 keyboard, 1 guitar, 1 bass, 1 electric drum = total 5 channels of mixer. Then can I send all 5 channels signal to USB computer and RECORD RAW EACH signal to EACH SEPPERATE TRACK for later edit effect each channel ?

Or ZED can record while playing live, but ONLY RECORD WHATEVER SIGNALS FROM MIXER IN STEREO L/R TO COMPUTER ?

Thanks

• Members

if you want it mainly for recording the zed might be more suitable with its USB... but if you want to just run a live board and mix monitors from FOH also the GL is the better choice.

GL has an option to make your AUX sends pre EQ and pre insert so your FOH mixes wont affect your foldback onstage which is much better for live work.