Neck pickup in bridge position

Michael Britton

• Members

Hey all, Mike Britton here. I'm a newbie to the forums, building a "Frankintar".

Maple neck, Indian Rosewood fretboard. Paulowina body, single H/B in the bridge position. 251/2" scale. Strat style top loader hardtail  Might want to install a Bigsby later.

I'm researching options on different pickup ideas. 

One is to find a good H/B and then split it with the tone button. Another is to drill and install a 2 way switch like a Les Paul (the body is a double cut away Les Paul Jr. copy.) to split the H/B.

I've been looking at the Seymore Duncan "Pearly Gates" pickup. Nice and fat, Billy Gibbons's favorite pickup.

What about putting a neck pickup in the bridge position? Is there any advantage?

As you can tell maybe, I'm looking for a fat. clear bluesy sound out of this single pickup guitar.

Edited by Michael Britton

• Members

There's no advantage persay, unless you want a bit of lower output. Neck p/u's are generally lower output than bridge p/us. Disadvantage is the string spacing on the pole pieces. Bridge p/u's are a wider spacing, allowing the strings to be over the pole pieces. 

And if the pickup is 4 conductor, use the series/single/parallel diagram shown here.

1 Humbucker/1 Volume/1 Tone/Series-North-Parallel (guitarelectronics.com)

• Members

Thanks, badpenguin! Never even considered the fact that the strings spread  as they move toward the bridge! Duh!!

I looked at the diagrams, all of them use a push-pull. So that means my idea of having a 2 way switch like Gibson uses to move back and forth from one H/B to the next is out?

I noticed that the bridge pickups have less resistance. I've been told they have more bottom, less briteness. Zat so?

My first guitar was a Tiesco ? single P/U in the bridge position. It would overwhelm my pitiful little Airline amp!

• Members