not so noobish-noob PA question.

• Members

I'm a noob, but not an idiot. So please dont flame me :)

With that out of the way...

I'm trying to put together a modest dj rig. No need to speak of what im r using to play my sound, i just need some help with some component parts.

Here is what I have:

1 - Crest CC2800 (Sub Amp) -- http://www.crestaudio.com/assets/literature/specs/CFA-CC2800-AB_7628.pdf

1 - QSC Powerlight 1.4 (main amp) -- http://media.qscaudio.com/pdfs/discontinued_products/pl14.pdf

2 - Homemade 18 inch woofer cabs with eminence omega pro 18c - 4 ohms

1 - Tiny 4 channel behringer mixer (for now)

Still need to acquire:

2(1 pair) - http://www.seismicaudiospeakers.com/Pair-of-Dual-12-Pro-Audio-PA-DJ-Band-Speakers-p/sa-122t.htm

1 - 2-way Stereo Crossover

So what I need to know before i blow anything up is, am i doing this righ?

Mixer Main outs --> Crossover --> Crossover low into Crest Sub amp --> Subs

Mixer Main outs --> Crossover --> Crossover high into qsc main amp --> Mains

Maybe be augmented at some point with an EQ between then main outs and crossover but for now, i'm going to rely on the EQ built into my mini mixer.

Is there any problems with this set up?

The crest is going to feed up to 925 watts per side (4ohms) into 800 watt subs (crest will probably never be turned up past 75%)

The QSC is going to feed about 500 watts per side (4ohms) into my full range mains (probably turned up to 85-90%)

My biggest concern comes from the crossover. I'm thinking a simple setup like the cheap $100 peavey i keep finding or a used behringer.

So I want the low into my subs and high into my mains. But since my mains are fullrange, will this make any sort of issue for me? or will it just share some bottem end with the subs? Should I make the low go as low as possible so my main bass is going into my subs and the rest into my mains?