Wedding DJ Prices

• Members

Okay... so I said a while back a friend wanted me to DJ her wedding.

I'm okay with that as long as she realizes I'm not a pro.

I'll bring my mixer, my computer, my QSC181+153 set up, and mics.

What would you guys charge?

Lets assume I'm going to mic the actual ceremony, and then do music (garter toss, bouquet, etc) til the end of the night.

• Members

Is this an actual friend, or more of someone that you know? If its a friend of yours I would just do it for free, they will probably give you a small "gift" for doing it.

Well, not really a friend, more like a friend of a friend of a friend...

I don't mind doing it for cheap. Its kind of awkward. I don't know if they are coming to me because they don't want to spend a lot, or if they are just trying to hook me up and keep it in the family.

• Members

Agreed. If it is a true friend I'd comp him. If it is a friend of a friend I'd ask around $200 if it's a simple setup.

Basically, if you would have been invited anyway do it for free. If you are only there for the DJ work charge them.

• Members

I would tend to agree. If you really don't do this then it's a good experience and a resume builder. See if they'll allow you to take pictures. This will help if you want to do a website and offer your services in the future. Also they can be a reference for you and provide a "testimonial" for your website.

If it's not a good friend though, then I'd at least make it worth your while. Maybe $20-$30 and hour. Likely will be a 10 hour day if it's local so $200- $300.

• Members

Well, not really a friend, more like a friend of a friend of a friend...

I don't mind doing it for cheap. Its kind of awkward. I don't know if they are coming to me because they don't want to spend a lot, or if they are just trying to hook me up and keep it in the family.