Walking Up to an LS-9 - How to Not Suck

• Members

I have a desperation fill-in job this weekend. Walking up to an LS-9 and running a system that will already be set up and tuned for me. Multiple acts with 45 minute change-overs. I'll be keeping it pretty simple for the most part...probably won't get deep into dynamics processing or editing FX Rack patches, etc. My background is StudioLive and MixWiz.

I've got Yamaha's quick start guide and might have time to plow through parts of the full manual, but thought I'd ask here...

What are the rookie mistakes and gotcha's on this console? Thanks in advance!

• Members

Remember that any input can be patched to any channel and assigned to any fader (especially if walking into someone else's show file). If you can get a copy of the all data file and open it in studio manager to see where the channels are and everything.

If you are walking in to an empty show see if you can reset the console to factory. If they don't need anything off it it takes 3 minutes and is the only way to be sure that it's all normal.

The other solution to blank slate is that scene #000 can NOT be saved over, so it is always a scene where each input is patched 1-to-1 to channels and assigned to the mains with no EQ, dynamics, or anything.

There is an option to allow "pop-ups on button presses" ACTIVATE IT. Then when you want to open the EQ window for better control you can just push any of the EQ knobs and it pops up. Same with any of the other sections.

Sends on Fader mode is a god-send. After you select one of the 16 mixes push the button again and it will start flashing (and all 16 mixes light up) this shows that the faders are now representing that mix send, great for building a mix quickly. Push the mix button again to go back to regular.

Press the home button at anytime to get back to the selected channel view (which shows you everything about whatever input/output channel you have selected).