Combo Bass amp under $400 needed

andyhumb

• Members

I am a newb as far as electric bass guitar is concerned. What is a good quality used combo amp for bass that I can use to play along with my son who plays guitar. He uses an EVH 5150 III amp for his guitar, but volume knob is way way down. I guess I want my electric bass to sound like a bass should for rock music specifically - but it has to be somewhat compact in size. Where can I get that classic electric bass rock tone? Again, I know essentially nothing about electric bass tone so I would appreciate help from experienced rock guys.

As far as electric guitar, I own and play a Voodoo Amps tube amp, Marshall JCM 800 modded amp, EVH III - all tube stuff sound best to my eyes for rock guitar. Not sure if that holds true for bass guitar amps as well.

• Members

Bear in mind I'm a rhythm guitarist who noodles around on bass so take this with the requisite large grain of salt. The gold standard in bass tone is Ampeg. The BA112 (75 Watts 1X12), BA115 (150 Watts 1X15), and Micro-CL (100 Watts 2X10 mini stack) all fit your price specification but none are tube amps. Warwick makes a few hybrid combo amps in your price range (your best bet is probably the BC80, 80 Watts 1X12) but you won't get the Ampeg sound. Whether you'll like what you do get is impossible to predict. Don't discount used gear either.

• Members

^ Probably as good a choice as any. The same price as the Warwick BC80 I also mentioned. I'd audition it first to make sure it's loud enough. My SWR LA12 is a 60 Watt 1X12 (not far removed from a 75-80 Watt 1X12 like the Ampeg or the Warwick) and it's very clean but not what I'd call extremely loud. If you're after bang-for-the-buck, find a used Peavey. The higher Wattage ones are plenty loud and they last forever.

• Members