Are more speakers louder?

• Members

Ok, I am new to PA speakers so this may seem like a dumb question to most of you, but my band is playing in larger places now than when we started. We currently have speakers that are rated at a max of 119db. I've been looking at new speakers that are 132db. I love the speakers I currently have so I have been thinking about adding 2 more of the 119db speakers for a total of 4 speakers as mains (as well as 2 18 inch subs). Would 4 119db speakers be louder than the 2 132db speakers?... Thanks for any help

• Members

If my understanding is correct (I am an amateur), you only get 3dB more sound by doubling the number of speakers.

You can buy great-sounding speakers in the 131-134 dB peak neighbourhood. Spend your money wisely and you will not have to sacrifice sound quality. QSC K12, JBL PRX612M, Yorkville NX55P-2 are some that I am familiar with.

Will your current speakers work as monitors? They're loud enough..

Wes

• CMS Author
Would 4 119db speakers be louder than the 2 132db speakers?

Absolutely not. But note wesg and agedhorse's considerations, both of which are quite relevant. Paring two speakers closely will theoretically gain 3dB. So your 119dB speakers paired will produce about 122dB....far less than one 132dB speaker, and essentially half the perceived volume.

BUT....agedhorse wisely mentioned the metrics. Testing speakers is a quagmire of methods. Full space or half? Full range, or only @ 1kHz? For how long? 1 second, 1 hour, 2 hours? Maximum output means nothing if the speaker fails by the third show. Then the Marketing and Sales departments have a go at it, and maybe they fudge the numbers so their widget looks better than the competitors widget. We've seen this happen over the years...the same speaker magically gains all sorts of power without any manufacturing changes at all.