Going straight into PA

Knottyhed

• Members

One of the biggest problems I have and other bands i've seen in my area with live sound is that there's no definition between instruments and all the levels are wrong so solo's etc. don't come through properly. I could be wrong, but going straight into the mixer could be a way of resolving alot of these headaches?

Last couple of rehearsals we've tried plugging the guitars direct into the mixer via a couple of Line 6 POD's. It gives us much more control over the overall sound and everything seems to come through better... but the POD doesn't really do it for me tone-wise.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to this sort of thing, so wondered what equipment I should be looking at if i want to take this route seriously. Could it even be worth buying a small but nice sounding tube amp and mic'ing it up? Are there better alternatives to the POD? Any suggestions/advice would be great.

• Members

Going straight to a mixer may resolve those problems, but cause a couple more.

If you're playing in a rock band, you need foldback of your instrument anyway, so it might as well come from your amp.

However, micing all the instruments (except often the drums don't need it in smaller venues) is a good way of letting the mixer take care of the levels. That way, you adjust your amp volume to how you want to hear it, then the mixer takes care of whether or not it needs to be beefed up through the front of house.

• Members

We used that approach all the time with my previous band: everyone except the drummer was mic-ed directly into the mixer.

I was using an old Zoom9002 at that time, so I had a small pre-amp stage before going into the mixer, but the other guitarist and the bassist were going into the mixer without a pre-amp stage, is this possible? Or am I not remembering something quite right here? :freak:

If that's possible, you need not use the POD at all...

• Members