Educated in music?

sinew1958

• Members

I have a Bachelor, Masters and part of a Ph.D. in music--music theory and ethnomusicology, not performance. And no, none of it is necessary for electronic (or any) music (unless you mean the 'classical' academic version of electronic music which seems to be made nowhere else but academia). What's necessary is ears to hear, eyes to read, a brain to think, and time time time to learn and practise. At some points a teacher might come in handy.

• Members

You can understand and create music with or without formalized training. Still, it helps to have a basic knowledge of music and the best way to get that is through music theory classes.

You'd be supprised at how many seemingly self tought musicians have had at least some formal music training.

• Members

I can't read a note but I was writing songs when I was 10 years old. Sure they were about the cookie monster or some {censored} but I was playing songs I wrote on guitar and singing my own lyrics. No i'm not some prodigy, just a guy with a day job that loves music. Over 43 years of life I believe I do have all kinds of music theory. It's just not somthing I could write down and explain to someone else. Over the years I have considered looking into training but I chose to put my efforts into other areas. Writing, production and recording, all which take up alot of time. It's all about conveying emotion. That can be done as simply as a 3 chord blues song or a full symphony orchestra piece. But I believe all musicians have theory, it's a question of weather or not you can write down or explain what you know!

• Members

Are there persons who has a breeding in music

I tend to keep fornication and synthesizing strictly separated. For one thing, most electronics can't stand any other juices than those coming out of the wall socket.

and is it necessary to make music

Eventually that all boils down to the ugly and tired question of "Is it art?", preceded by "Is it music?".