midi orchestra instruments...which one under $800

• Members

hey guys, im interested in getting some real good string sounds for my studio, i want strings, cellos id like horns, and other various orchestra sounds. i want to be able to do string sounds like dimmu borgir, and other black metal bands, as well as mostly random string parts in pop songs, not full only orchestra peices. what can you guys reccomend? i run logic pro on a dual 2.0 g5 with 2.5 gigs of ram. all i have are the samplers that come with logic. would i need to get a better sampler too?

also random question about writing the parts in midi, how would i tell a sequencer, such as the EXS24 or whatever one i buy to "play notes differently" like legato, or picking notes, or long bows, or short notes. do i have to write that all in the notation editor? or can i do it from piano roll? im not too experienced in all this midi stuff sorry for the dumb questions

ian

• Members

If I could get one right now, i'd get the Garritan Personal Orchestra.

If I wanted a hardware synth i would consider Kurzweil.

At the present time though I'm using a Juno D and Proteus for orchestral sounds.

For different bowing and articulations i use different samples on different tracks, so when i need spiccato i record the part in the spiccato track, if i need pizzacatto i record in that track. I use a template with 30 or so tracks so all the parts of the orchestra are laid out for me. I use a piano roll for most data entry.

If you want to hear how this sounds click my sound click (the time being) and listen to E minor Symphony.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=669771

I assume the sample libraries use some of this technique but also have multisampled patch / map splits built in to make it easier. Garritan for instance includes samples of solo instruments and various size sections

that you can add together to build the ensembles you need.

• 4 years later...
  • Members

Thread back from the dead!!!