OCD is that good!

dap99

• Members

I didn't want to believe it. I knew it would be a good pedal, but not as good as all the hype. Well it is THaT good. I've only played it through my Epi Valve Jr. head and MESA 2x12 cab so far, but it really does sound great, cleans up well, and has a very amp-like, open sound. If I had a Twin or something like that, the OCD would be an invaluable pedal.

Now we just need to figure out how to clone it! I got the Voodoolabs OD schematic, but I'm just learning schematics so it'll take me some time to sort it all out. It's not a big circuit, though.

NEway, great peadal.

• Members

Is the OCD similiar to LM308 Rats? Or a whole nother beast? Because I have a twin and a Rat I want an OCD but I'm afraid they're too similiar.

Not too familiar w/ the LM308 rats. Is that Landgraff Mod? I think the OCD is based on the Voodoo Labs OD, but w/ MOSFETS instead of diode clipping. I had a Turbo Rat years ago and never really liked it b/c it was too harsh. My MESA has great OD/Distortion so I've just been using Tube Screamers for boosts. But I had to hear the OCD first hand b/c I've been doing some DIY stuff and I want to try to incorporate the OCD into a future build.

Not very helpful for your question, but hopefully someone else will chime in.

• Members

Yeah, it's awesome. Very versatile pedal, but almost everything sounds great. The LP/HP Switch adds both distortion and upper-mid clarity. Great crunch. Seriously, it' brilliance defined. I don't even use distortion that much, but I've been noodling around playing a lot of Band of Horses, and it gets that {censored} spot on. Spot on. And I'm pretty sure they use the overdrive they get from their Deluxe Reverbs.

• Members

Ditto. Does anyone know for sure what the circuit's based on?

I said it twice already, it's based on the Voodoo Labs Overdrive. Not the newer Sparkle Drive. But Fuller used MOSFETs instead of diodes in the clipping section.