Ehhhhh crap ... I need a compressor

• Members

Well, after 17 years of playing guitar with no compressor I'm finally gonna give in. As my sound gets more and more fuzzed out (which is awesome) it becomes more and more difficult to get articulate fingerstyle out of my rig. Reluctantly, I've decided it's compressor time.

SO ... school me please. Best compressors (reasonably priced) for electric fingerstyle? And, since I'm a complete noob in regard to using them ... a little guidance? Thaaaaaaaanks.

• Members

I don't know much either.....but here are my compressors and how I use them.

1. Keeley two knob...for blues, combined with a TS-9 type OD it can't be beat

2. Digitech MainSqueeze...for very very clean finger-style and chords

3. Pearl CO-04...use for extremely squashed chicken pickin' stuff(I suck at that, so I don't use it much)

• Members

3. Pearl CO-04...use for extremely squashed chicken pickin' stuff(I suck at that, so I don't use it much)

Yeah that's exactly what I need ... for chickin' pickin' (just really, really fuzzed out crazy chickin' pickin') ... are some compressors better for this than others? I want as little compression as possible while still remaining articulate.

• Members

Yeah that's exactly what I need ... for chickin' pickin' (just really, really fuzzed out crazy chickin' pickin') ... are some compressors better for this than others? I want as little compression as possible while still remaining articulate.

Yeah.the Keeley is NOT good in that department, but I hear the MXR Dynacomp is probably what you're looking for.

• Members

Dude, you have good taste in gear but I don't see myself dropping the cash necessary to get a Diamond compressor ... how much is it?

$179 I think. Try to find one used is my suggestion, but it's really awesome. The EQ knob is pretty bitchin' too.

• Members

Boss CS-3 used off of Ebay with the Monte Allums Opto Plus mod. Transparent and very quiet. Can hold it's own against any boutique pedal.