Nord Electro - Help me convince myself to buy one!

New Trail

• Members

Recently played a gig and a local hardcore B3 musician came running up to me at the break incredulous that my Nord electro 61 could sound sooooo good!!! (thru a Motion Sound stereo amp). He was unfamiliar with Nords, and was shocked.

The stereo amp is the frosting on the cake...the Nord, and other clonewheels, is sampled in stereo, so the rotary simulation is fully unleashed with stereo..(FOH is mono, though, but it works).

• Members

This board gets a lot of press on this forum and others. Have you searched around for previous reviews, commentaries, lovers, haters, etc?

I am a fan boy of the Electro, no surprise there. I've been gigging with one for over 5 years. It is a very simple and extremely musical keyboard. It is not bathed in reverb or cheesy FX like many rompler solutions. It is very much like plugging in a real Rhodes, Wurly, Clav D6, CP80 and Hammond in a

Quite simply, the Electro rocks.

Outkaster, this thread is for you, brother!!! :wave:

• Members

does any one have any idea when is clavia upgrading to a electro 3? if ever?

An Electro w/ the latest OS (3.04, I think) is technically a Nord Electro 3. The only difference between the Nord Electro and the Nord Electro 2 was the OS. But at this point I don't think they're going to mess with success. ;)

• Members

I was looking to spend less - so I got the NE61. I don't miss the extra keys and saved about $300. Definitely the most satisfying keyboard I've owned. No complaints at all - as long I play it thru my Motion Sound 200s amp. As has been mentioned, I think a stereo amp is really essential with this keyboard.

• Members

If you want piano sounds get a Yamaha S-90. It will compliment the Electro fine.