OT: advice for a new apartment.

Thomas Rojo

• Members

So i just moved to hollyweird to go to MI. I'm psyched but they have no dorms so i had to get an apartment close by. I have a roommate who shreds and seems really cool so far. But it is only my second day here. It is my first time moving away from home and to a new city so whats the word on commonly overlooked new apartment living advice? :idea:

• Members

cant he just practice in his fancy new apt?

but ive never been to no high fallutin' guitar school or nuthin' so maybe these special rooms are really awesome or somthing thatll really get the practicin' to stick right.

A) The fancy apartment has the beer and the endless re-runs of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. THAT {censored}S DISTRACTING. Hence, the need for individual practice rooms: For focus.

B) there are countless opportunities to perform in a group setting there - it's kinda hard to rehearse a band in a central hollywood apartment.... unless you LIKE receiving eviction notices.....

which reminds me - SIGN UP FOR ALL OF THE PERFORMANCE CLASSES THAT YOU CAN CRAM INTO A DAY WHETHER YOU LIKE THE STYLE OF MUSIC OR NOT. TRUST ME. (especially the ones that have Jon "Ryggy" Rygiewicz on drums - that's my dog, y'all!)

C) the apartment is just a base, and is often a pit of lethargy - stay away from it and be at the MI campus as much as possible!

end of lecture.

• Members

I live north of hollywood blv and west of highland on franklin and whitley.

As for the appliance not working and such, the toilet is clogged and iv'e only used it twice??? WTF! so the land lady will hear about this right away.

And sign for the practice rooms early... got it, Thanks!

• Members

Make (and try and stick to) a reasonable budget.

Cooking your own food is {censored} loads cheaper (and better for you) than eating out all the time - I would save so much money by doing this instead of spending $5-$10 on fast food everyday like my roommates would do.

• Members