A nostalgic look back

shambler

• Members

Hi all,

I remember in my teens seriously wanting a DX7 and not being able to afford it.

Years rolled on to the point that technology had progressed and then the things I had looked forward to owning were superceeded by newer technology.

For me the DX7 was a board that was not of my time.

It is great to look on EBay and think, wow I would have loved one of those synths back then.

What synth holds that position for you? Something you wowed at, at the time, but could not afford and then didn't need when you finally could afford it? ;)

• Members

DX-7 has that position for me, but strangely I could afford and bought one in 85 or 86, but couldn't do any programming because there was no internet and I was a high school student with no serious english skills. I have the manual translated to a translation office at the time, but still couldn't produce what I hear in video clips of the time. It was a hair pulling period for me with great dissapointment and then I sold it. Years later, after returning to musical acitivities, I got one for nostalgias sake and I am happy because I discover that many sounds are indeed from the DX-7. It is one of the immortal synths for me. Fortunately, years later, I came to a point where I could afford many synths of the 80s at the same time, the only major ones missing are Jupiter-8 and Ob-Xa. I feel that I don't need them so I'm almost done with the old synths.:)

• Members

I wanted a Prophet 5 when they were first available in 1978 but I never bought one. Later, I did have a Memorymoog and Memorymoog Plus, but I never really liked them. I should have gotten the early rev Prophet back then instead, but today I have no desire for one.

• Members

I wanted a Prophet 5 when they were first available in 1978 but I never bought one. Later, I did have a Memorymoog and Memorymoog Plus, but I never really liked them. I should have gotten the early rev Prophet instead.