GC ripoff story, maybe, check this out...

thriftyshirt

• Members

So a friend of mine goes to a GC on vacation, somewhere near Atlanta.

Walks in and finds a '72 Silverface Super Reverb. Plays it a little and buys it on the spot.

The punchline: he paid $1500 for it :eek:

2nd punchline: it needs repairs, and he knew that when he bought it...:eek:

His exact quote: "Vintage deals like this don't come up too often..."

You tell me, did he get ripped off as bad as I think he did?

• Members

im no expert, but the price seems high. especially with the need of additional repair. im not a fender guy, but they have always made nice amps; so why didn't he looked at some newer models that cost a little less, assuming that a '72 Silverface Super Reverb wasn't a coveted model/year.

but look at it this way: if you buy a used car that you did not test drive because the transmission was blown(you were fully aware of this), then had it towed home, and tried to justify it because you think a ford maverick is a great vintage car, it's all on you. let him have it, chances are it could need some extensive repair, and that could be expensive.

• Members

It's only worth what someone will pay

your friend didn't get ripped off

if they overcharged no one would have bought it, your friend bought it, and they got a great price

people need to realize old does NOT equal awesome

there're always suckers

• Members

i had to refrain from laughing at him when he told me about it. I really had to bite my tounge, and not immediately launch into a list of "better" amps he could have picked up that would have at least been functioning properly when he bought them....

I mean just the other day i saw a '68 Super, modded and upgraded by Kendrick in immaculate condition for $1200.

• Members

Originally posted by thriftyshirt