Easy question about chord notation...

• Members

Hello, I am a noob at music notation, a fact which will be made abundantly clear as you read the rest of my post...

I am looking at a fake book which makes liberal use of chord symbols like "C-" or maybe it is "C_", not sure. What kind of chord is this? It's usually, but not always, a seventh chord.

Thanks in advance!

• Members

C- is C minor

The "Real Book" is the Jazz fake book that I and most musicians my age (guys in their 30s) learned Jazz standards from. Being the learning guide for so many musicians, the chord symbols used in the "Real Book" have become the standard in a way. The one I learned most of the Jazz standards from is the 5th edition. I took a look through the other editions and noticed that they all use slightly different notation standards, for example the 2nd edition notates Cmaj7 as Cmaj7 but notates Cmin7 as Cmi7. The 5th edition of the "Real Book" generally uses the following standards to notate chord symbols:

Chord Family...Chord Symbols

minor.............C-, C-6, C-7, C-9, C-add9, C-11, C-13, C-(maj7), etc..

major.............Cmaj, C6, Cmaj7, Cmaj9, Cadd9, Cmaj7#11, Cmaj13, etc..

dominant........C7, C7sus, C9, C7#11, C13, C7b9, C7(b9,#5), etc..

http://www.myguitarworkshop.com/Lessons/Chords_and_Chord_Symbols_Part1/Chords_and_Chord_Symbols_Part1.htm

• Members

I hate it when books use non-standard notation. I'm trying to decipher a version of Nuages and am puzzled by C(a 'o' with a line through it)7 (half-dimished 7; C Eb Gb Bb maybe?) and triangles (augmented?) and circles (which I think means diminished). And the book has no key at the front or back.

This is nuts. There's actually a book I have someplace (and it's driving me nuts I can't find it) that lists all the chord notation variants, spells them out, explains why they're wrong, and suggests a logical standard system of notation. Rohmer & Wright or something like that.

• Members