I am considering the Valve junior but i have questions

Boris the Blade

• Members

99 bucks cant be beat and considering I am a poor student, it is all I can afford right now. Playing through an old 15w fender frontman is no fun at all. And I have a great guitar, but nothing good to accommodate it.

My question is that is it recommend to purchase some pedals for this amp? I have none. All i have is some crappy Ibanez pedal that sounds god awful. Its not a tube screamer btw haha. Anyways, the thing that bugs me on that amp is just the single volume knob, but would i get by without pedals for the time being?

• Members
99 bucks cant be beat and considering I am a poor student, it is all I can afford right now. Playing through an old 15w fender frontman is no fun at all. And I have a great guitar, but nothing good to accommodate it.

My question is that is it recommend to purchase some pedals for this amp? I have none. All i have is some crappy Ibanez pedal that sounds god awful. Its not a tube screamer btw haha. Anyways, the thing that bugs me on that amp is just the single volume knob, but would i get by without pedals for the time being?

stock,
the amp isn't that great, but for like $10 in parts, you can mod it and get it pretty good. for another $30, you can get an OT and really open it up.

www.18watt.com has a thread w/ over 170 pages dedicated to modding the valve jr.

• Members

I just bought one of these yesterday. I haven't had a chance to read up on modding it...I don't know if I will, I generally like to just sit down and play my guitar.