I know it's a dead horse, but i really can't decide...

bluesboy

• Members

I have been researching, and thinking, and doucbting, and rethinking, for weeks now... I can't decide which pickups to put in my LP vintage mahogany. I dont really like the burstbucker pros for the following reasons:

the neck pickup is a bit muddy and lacks treble. it is not so articulate

the bridege pickup I like better, has clarity, lacks bass response.

I was thinking about the JB/Jazz combo, but am worried that they will sound too thin.

I was thinking of the Custom SH-5/ 59 combo, but dont know if the 59 will be any different from the BB pro I currently have in the neck, and I have no experience with the SD custom.

I thought about GFS, but have had bad luck with their humbuckers.

ANY IDEAS? PLease help me decide!

I play a mix of classic rock and heavy modernish rock, like say buckcherry, stone temple pilots, velvet revolver, lynyrd skynryd.

My main amp is the VOX AC15 CC1.

EDIT: I also was seriously considering Alnico II pro's, but I heard they are just like Classic 57's, which I didn't really like because I thought they sounded sterile in a previous LP studio I had

• Members

Doesn't duncan offer an echange for any of their pickups if you don't like the ones you bought? Even if they don't, just don't cut the leads to short and you can resell them.

There are some things that just can't be solved by analyzing/advice. You just have to bite the bullet and try something out. If it doesn't work out, at least you have more information with which to guide your future choices.

Good luck :thu:

• Members

Rio Grande BBQ's or even the BareKnuckles.

Bareknuckles looked very interesting to me, but they are expensive and I have no idea where to buy them. I looked on ebay and there was only one set and they weren't what I was interested in.

as far as rio rande BBQ's, I guess im looking for edge and clarity more so than warmth

• Members