Fender DeVille problem

Elderling

• Members

So just for a little {un}necessary background: this summer I've bought a few things. First a weight bench (was rusty and falling apart), then contact lenses (they gave me the wrong prescription twice in a row), then a video game online (they never sent it), then a cell phone (won't receive calls and kills batteries--as in, after being in my phone they don't work for any phone anymore), etc. But my prize acquisition was a Fender DeVille 2x12 (I think) I got on eBay to replace my {censored}ty Marshall practice amp. It just arrived, I lugged it up the stairs with a thrill of anticipation, set it up, turned it on--oops, wasn't plugged in--turned it on again, watched the lights go on, and strummed my guitar. Nothing. After playing around with it for about fifteen minutes, still nothing. Lights go on but no sound.

Now, being that I have no experience with tube amps, what the {censored} should I do? I'm heading back to college on Sunday, is there any way I could check to figure out what the problem is and thus fix it in the next two days? I'm in NY, on Long Island in case that for some reason matters (i. e., technicians, etc).

Help please, I feel like killing myself after spending over $1000 this summer on faulty items that people mostly won't reimburse me for. I also got a small LCD HDTV yesterday that I'm afraid to open for fear that it won't work either.

• Members
So just for a little {un}necessary background: this summer I've bought a few things. First a weight bench (was rusty and falling apart), then contact lenses (they gave me the wrong prescription
twice in a row