Lyrics...Music. How does it all start?

LeonardScaper

• Members

How does it work for you guys?

I'm seeing a lot of lyrics posted and I can't help but wonder where the music comes in.

I'm a writer....unpublished novels and short stories, but I can't just write lyrics. My songs generally come to me with a melody. In fact, I can't just sit down and 'write a song'. I need to hear it in my head.

Even then, some of my best lyrics come after I have written a verse/chorus and I'm in the recording stage.

I feel it as a dynamic process, one that has to 'be' right for the tune to really work.

A lot of serious songwriters here........how does it work for you guys?

• Members

Its real life stuff... Just think about something that has affected you a lot, something you went through that really got you to the core. Try to express it with what you think would be the best way to interpret it so people would feel your emotions.

• Members

My songs all come in some manner from just that real life emotion. I just lost my landscaping business of 13 years.That was a sudden change and all it left me with.....was a pretty cool new tune.

It's just that, at least for me, lyrics witout music feel a bit like prose. And I say that with a lot of respect for those of you who can sit down and write lyrics that eventually work beautifully with music.

• Members

I almost always have some vague music in my head when I'm writing lyrics -- even if it's simply a stand-in for what might end up being there eventually. For me, it's integral to the rhythm of the words and their delivery.

It's rare when I don't have a guitar in my hand when I'm writing. Even when I was doing mostly electronic music, I would typically write with a guitar.