Friday Influences Thread 01.15.10

Stackabones

• Members

What has influenced you as a songwriter in the past ... or since the last FIT?

Since I'm primarily an acoustic musician and performer, I'm always on the look out for good acoustic music. I really appreciate musicians who strive to capture the wood and the sweat and the vibe of playing acoustic instruments -- not exactly a natural thing to do while in the studio. Iron & Wine is really just Sam Beam recording in his Florida house, and he writes good songs and records them in honest ways and shoots his own videos (iirc he is film professor, too).

But when a southern anthem rings

she will buckle to that sound

when that southern anthem sings

it will lay her burden down

[YOUTUBE]KdebhHO_sSw[/YOUTUBE]

• Moderators

Organic. I get what you're saying Stack. I love that Iron & Wine stuff. And for me this week, I'm not too far from that sort of thing...

T-Bone Burnett.

"I love loud music. I listen loud, and that's part of how I've learned how to do this. Record softly and play back loud and a whole other thing happens. "

Play softly. Think easy. I listened to his interview on Terry Gross's Fresh Aire a few days ago. He's doing the music for a film called Crazy Heart. About a Waylon/Willie/Clark type who falls into alcohol abuse and small time touring. His bright days are passed.

T Bone gets music. Listen to his production of this great song about the sad, burnt protagonist of Crazy Heart. Poor, drunk, old... a has-been. Still in the game, though his best years are long gone. This is a recording any of us could have made. But wait... let it play out and see how he lets the song unfold into something quite powerful. That's T Bone. A great song by Ryan Bingham, one I heard him play in many different incarnations and one I didn't realize was this good until T Bone got a handle on it...

[YOUTUBE]K7Jf2mcSplw[/YOUTUBE]

Your heart's on the loose

You rolled them sevens with nothing lose