Budget VST Drums - Slate EX vs. Ezdrummer

monkeysuit

• Members

I wanna buy a VST drumkit for some homerecording, so far I found the Steven Slate EX and Ezdrummer (+Metal/DFH Expansion) that both look interesting. Judging from clips the Slate drums sound better but i really like the bundled midi drumloops that come with Ezdrummer.

Anybody tried one or even both of those and can give me some insights?

I'm also open for other suggestions, budget is ~$150 and I need a kit thats suitable for modern rock/metal.

• Members

I just got the Steven Slate EX so I'm still learning it and I have had EZDrummer for some time now.

I would say Seven Slate EX has EZDrummer beat by a long shot. Yeah, you get a decent package deal on the loops on EZDrummer but the Steven Slate EX sounds ten times better. I have found that the EZDrummer loops work in Steven Slate EX.

• Members

I find EZdrummer much easier to use than Steven Slate, but Slate drums sound better.

I'll send you the EZDrummer midi files if you want.

That was my impression as well, especially the bassdrums didn't sound good on the ezdrummer dfh clips I heard. I might get back to you about the midifiles. Did you already work with the midis on the Slate drums and did it go as easy as with ezdrummer?

• Members

Well I have EZDrummer, Superior Drummer and the Steven Slate ones.

The EZDrummer midi work fine in SD2.0.

I tried going over the Steven Slate on the same MIDI files and it was hitting a splash where SD2.0 was using a crash ride.

Couldn't figure out how to change the mappings on each drum in Steven Slate so the note is triggering the right cymbals.

it uses Kontakt Player which I've not got much experience with. The Toontrack stuff is def easier to use. I prob need to spend more time with Slate Drums though.

• Members