Dumb Question: What jack should I get for my 1x15

khastra_ksc

• Members

Hola!

I am almost done with my 1x15 cab, but I can't figure out what kind of input jack to get for the back pannel, or where the best place is to get one.

I did check out the list or links, and did a quick search... but just got a little overwhelemed 'cause I have never done this before.

I have been hanging around www.parts-express.com, but there's an awful lot to choose from.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

• Members

2fer $3.99 @ Rat Shack. Then you'll have a spare. Trust me. If you're already a DIY'er you are afflicted with PRS (pack rat syndrome). If you're just getting into it make sure you find space for your PRS aquisitions. Me I don't have a problem. I can quit collecting things anytime I want.

• Members

I still think any Switchcraft product is still the best. That connects you to a lot of equipment out there already. Using a recessed plate is best, and easier to build. If you want your cabinet to be versatile, I'd use a quarter inch and a pin connector. You don't want to have some high tech superstar hanging around with some bytes of pocket amp that he can't plug in to play, making you miss the party. I'd consider having two parallel inputs for each, so you can link with other cabinets. You might want to add a couple of tens for your fifteen, getting clearer mids, so that's another reason to have a link.

You're not saying anything about wire. Grab some gold stereo wire and get some there. That's by far the best.

If you're wondering about inputs, you might not know anything about square footage of interior space versus the size of your speaker. Is your cabinet big or ventilated? You might need to learn about port placement or you can slowly blow your speaker.

as always, John Watt

• Members
And "gold stereo wire" is overkill. Hugely so.