Has anybody ever put a guitar on layaway?

kwakatak

• Members

I've been doing my homework on several models for a couple of years but I can't sell my wife on dumping that much cash all at once.

I'm curious to hear if anyone has had any experience with doing layaway over several months with either their local music store, mail-order or online dealer?

• Members

Wouldn't seem to be much point, really. I can totally sympathize with the wife-would-freak-out mentality. Fortunately for me, my wife knows just slightly less than nothing about guitars and their value... I'm not saying I'd lie, necessarily, but I might employ a particular version of the truth...

Seriously, though, saving your money in a hidden shoebox is the same principle as layaway, only you maintain immediate control of your money and can change your mind with less hassle if it comes to that. Plus, there aren't a bunch of strangers out there with their prurient hands all over your shoebox while you're saving. I am currently engaged in the shoebox method myself.

• Members

Layaway: Poor man's credit.

I know what you mean, a friend wanted to start on bass guitar and I told him to buy it cash. But, his wife wouldn't let him buy anything (he's {censored}-whipped).

So, I told him to put it on layaway. He did and he got it out after two months. His wife still went ape-{censored}. But who cares, he has a bass with an amp now to jam with us.

I'm not married, but I used to layaway in the beginning.

A friend once told me "you wanna play, you gotta pay."

Not wanting to wait to play with my toys everything I buy now is in cash.

• Members

A lot of dealers will let you put an instrument of layaway., but another option is to buy online if you feel up to it. Music123 and musicians friend both have credit plans. That way you get your guitar immediately. Just make sure you have decent credit before you even bother. Otherwise they won't allow it...obviously!:D

• Members