Never Be Great on My Acoustic - But Advice on Good Appreciated!

pgcorky

• Members

I tried for a little guidance on the Lesson Loft, but have been admonished for not having desire for greatness, or being a spoiled brat that won't work hard. At age 49 (happy birthday to me), I'm a little old for spoiled brat. (but my kids aren't!) In any case, thought the acoustic board might be a bit more constructive for me.

In my case I guess it's coordination (and time) - just getting my fingers in the right places on the fret board quickly and consistently is still a challenge. I suppose there are folks that are real born naturals, and then there are the rest of us. So I need to keep it simple. When I started playing, it was probably more with the intent of learning to strum and sing a few nice folk, country, classic rockish songs to build a campfire repertoire.

I can handle some simple finger style - (the Taylor 314 is pretty good for that) and strumming (the Martin D-15 is nice). Still not there on the expert skills side and thinking some fresh but simple suggestions from you alll would be excellent to get me back on track! Many thanks!

• Members

I've felt that way before. The best thing I've ever done is take lessons. This forced me to practice and improve myself before the next lesson. Eventually playing guitar became something as integrated into my life as brushing my teeth or taking a shower...

I do it once a month. ;)

• Members

"getting my fingers in the right places..quickly and consistantly"
is a matter of establishing muscle memory, it takes time for those neural pathways to take. You might practice something for a long time on Monday, say, and find you're no better on Tuesday, but even without addtional practice, you're much better by Friday or so.

You're better off finding 30-45 minutes everyday to play than just doing a marathon weekend session.