OT: Violin anyone???

Misha

• Members

Someone here plays violin?

I'm interested in trying to play but I know nothing about violins.

I wonder if there are companies that build violins that are equivalent to the Yamaha/Seagull guitars: i.e. inexpensive but good violins???

Please chime in!

• Members

there are plenty of good and inexpensive violins. The really cheap chinese violins have issues staying in tune. The bow is often not considered, but a good bow is very expensive as well. You can start with a synthetic horsehair bow. You might be best served to look up your local Suzuki school and talk to one of the teachers about purchasing a full size instrument. They will likely be a good resource and may even know of a decent instrument at a reasonable cost.

I am not a violin expert, but I play around with one occasionally and have had 2 kids in Suziki - so I know just enough to be dangerous. I would think you could get a decent instrument case and bow for $300ish used

• Members

I was pretty serious about it when I was younger. I was one of the early Suzuki kids in the US - I studied with one of the "Founders", Anastasia Jempelis, and met Sinichi Suzuki when I was like 6 or so.

When I was a teenager, my parents invested in a serious instrument for me. They spent a *lot* of money at the time...this would've been about 1974 or so....I think they spent $500 on my bow.

I still have that fiddle. Nice instrument, though it was a little banged up from being a teenager.

I don't play much any more. When I pick it up, I end up sounding not very good, so it's a disincentive to practicing, because it just sounds so bad and I used to be pretty good. I know it just takes more practice...but you know.

I've found that if I spend about two hours practicing, I can sort-of get my hands to remember stuff I did when I was in the fourth grade.

It's not an easy instrument to learn. Good luck.

BTW, here's a joke for you:

Q: How can you tell when a violin is out of tune?