Opinions of Dean Sweetwood?

myTakamine

• Members

I just started playing (on a Takamine electric :thu: ) a couple of months ago, learning on my own whenever I can steal time. About half the tunes I want to learn turn out to be acoustic, so obviously I need another guitar for a suitable sound.

I came across a good deal on a Dean Sweetwood, which for some reason appeals to me. Anyone have experience -- good, bad, or indifferent -- with one of these? Or other Dean acoustics?

Attached pic is from http://www.guitarshop.net/deansweetwoodjcr.htm

Thanks for any opinions.

Bruce

• Members

My experience with Dean acoustics is that they generally suck. Iffy construction at best and the sound is often rather plasticky. I saw a Dean Sweetwood DM at a local music store going for about $600; if this is the money you're looking to spend, I personally think you can do much better.

Check out Epiphone Masterbilt, some great guitars in that price range. Don't be afraid to buy used, too. Used Breedloves and Larrivees make great guitars. Some of the higher-end Washburns are terrific as well.

Basically, go to Guitar Center (or whatever) and play a bunch of guitars, keeping your eyes open for some of the brands I mentioned and I'm sure others will mention.

Ellen

• Members

DO NOT PAY THAT MUCH FOR A DEAN!

Ok, I have never played one, but I got my Masterbuilt used for $450. Parkwood and even better, Breedlove's are cheaper, and I have to assume are better instruments.I almost bought the Breedlove, then the Epiphone was offered by a guy at work, who got it from some choice pick, due to him having some Artist Representation interest.

I played a really great Alvarez acoustic/electric at a shop yesterday, by far not a top of the line model, but I was really tempted to buy it, it was really, REALLY a nice playing and sounding guitar. And it was $269!