Opinions on the Carvin Cobalt C980T?

JoshuaLogan

• Members

Never played one, myself, but Boggs swears by 'em, and his is an opinion worth listening to. I believe they're built by Cort in China, same as many Epis, Alvarezes, etc.

I've been using Carvin PA and bass gear for about 30 years and haven't had a bad piece yet...they stand behind what they sell, so if you're not happy w/ it, you can send it back w/o any hassle.

• Members

I've owned a C980T for a year now. I've been very happy with it. It's built

like a tank, plays easy and sounds great. The Fishman pickup system offers

a lot of tonal flexibility, and is very good at filtering out feedback at loud

volume levels, without killing the tone. It doesn't have quite as much bottom

end as I expected for a jumbo body guitar, but I'm still happy with the sound.

The onboard tuner is a great feature. Lately I've been using my Carvin to

play in a few different alternative tunings, since the tuner is so convenient.

The Cobalts are in fact made by Cort guitars in Korea. I also own a Cort

acoustic, which is also a wonderful guitar. My Carvin came with a little better

setup from the factory than my Cort, and also has better quality bridge pins.

You might want to take a look at this guitar to compare the simularities:

http://www.drclucks.net/fusemain.cfm?section=xpic&itemnumber=843

I also saw something recently on the Carvin discussion boards about the

Cobalts being backordered for a few weeks, so you might want to check

into that if you're seriously considering buying one.

• 4 years later...
  • Members