The Floyd Rose Set-Up Runaround... Any advice?

NoirAbattoir

• Members

You know the drill. I set the trem springs to whereabouts I would like the bridge to sit. I then tune the guitar up with the headstock, tighten the nut, and try to tune it again with the fine tuners. The strings are either too flat or too sharp to compensate for the difference. Undo the nut and start all over again...

What is the secret to these damn things? It's been years since I owned one and it's a bit frustrating. Especially since the guitar sounds so damn good and the neck is so fast. It's an Ibanez JS100 loaded with 59s.

• Members

I'm new to owning a guitar with a Floyd Rose and I'm experiencing a few headaches myself. I did see some articles out there that can help though:

http://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=103

http://www.athensmusician.net/archive/2002-04-05_geneguitarguru.php

http://www.meanstreetguitars.com/Guitar%20Tech.htm

My guitar is a Music Man Axis with the Floyd Rose that you can't pull back on so I was hoping it would hold tune better, but I still haven't gotten that science down yet. If anyone out there does not the trick please let me know!

• Members

Just keep tuning. I noticed it helps a little bit when you try to keep the equilibrium of the bridge by tuning E then e, A then B, and D then G. However, I'm usually too lazy to do that. Make sure you back out the fine-tuners so they're all roughly about half-way.

• Members

Originally posted by Achilleos

If locking trems are complex to you, just use fixed bridge. If you've been reduced to the point of asking what is the "secret":rolleyes: , it's hopeless.

If you haven't got the skills to help someone out then take your ignorant comments elsewhere, jackass...

• Members

Originally posted by kevdog

I'm new to owning a guitar with a Floyd Rose and I'm experiencing a few headaches myself. I did see some articles out there that can help though: