I hope to open a professional recording studio someday, is it a good or bad idea?

• Members

Hi,

Thanks for taking time and checking out my post. I'm a musician who knows his time for glory is running low on fuel. It's time to look into other avenues and possibilites before it's a little too late to start. Like many musicians I record on my own computer, usually getting very good results (especially when I record my friends since I feel vocally they are more talented). So it's a crazy idea that'll probably cost me a chance of a normal American suburban life (like a nice house, a nice car etc.), but if I someday come across enough cash to open a professional recording studio, should I do it? I know technology is vastly improving, so more and more musicians are recording at home. I have recorded in an expensive studio before, but I was able to get better results at home because there were no time contraints. Or should I aim for the "demo" studio where the cost of equiptment wouldn't be as much, but the chances of people walking through the door are much greater.

Also, I know it probably varies and I'll probably get some not so nice replies for this question, but realistically how much can I expect to shell out for a pro studio, and how much for a demo studio?

Thank you very much everyone.

• Members

Most people will probably tell you to make a studio as good as you can, but use your own space..

example.. open a studio run it as a business but place it in your home.. a basement...

that way your not paying for a building and double bills..

also i wold say plan on working a real job while you build your client list and get your name out...

after that its depends on how good you are.. how good your business sense is.. and how good your marketing is..