strat: a versatile one

DWBH

• Members

i'm looking for a stratocaster thar is versatile. i'm want a sweet and clean sound for blues and jazz but i also want one that gives me a good crunch...

well, which strat should i pick?

do i have a more versatile strat with one hum and two single-coils than with 3 single-coils?

and what are the characteristics of maple, ash, alder, mahogany, etc in both neck and body?

and what the hell is a fat strat?

oh, i forgot to mention that i want a tremolo bridge guitar

PS: i'm a nOOb :D

EDIT: and what is the diference between a highway strat and a "normal" strat?

thanks

• Members
Originally posted by DWBH

i'm looking for a stratocaster thar is versatile. i'm want a sweet and clean sound for blues and jazz but i also want one that gives me a good crunch...

Ok...

well, which strat should i pick?

The cheap and easy answer is "the one you try that feels and sounds best to you", but yes figuring out some idea of the spec you want in advance can be very helpful in narrowing down your search.

do i have a more versatile strat with one hum and two single-coils than with 3 single-coils?

Eh, that's a matter of opinion. A lot of folks will say yes you do, but it's a trade off, really - you lose the true Strat bridge and bridge / middle sounds in exchange for having the humbucker tone in the bridge. Depends what you want, really - if rawer, bluesly, classic rock tones are your thing, then I'd be more inclined to a good raw ballsy single coil, whereas if you want a much more modern rock sounding guitar, the HB might be a good move. You can also opt for having the HB tapped - it won't sound quite like a true single coil, IMO, but it'll get you close enough if the HB sound option is important to you.

and what are the characteristics of maple, ash, alder, mahogany, etc in both neck and body?