I Love Reading Reviews By Teenagers On Amazon...

aeon

• Members

I love reading reviews by teenagers on Amazon...

...that express the feeling that their generation's music is {censored}e, and how (insert name of Brit Invasion Band Here)'s music is better.

To wit: (and yeah, Cindy is no spelling wiz, hehe ;) )

I'm a 15 year old canadian and I'm discusted with the music of my generation. I am a musician and presently play bass, piano, gutair, and I'm working on my drumming skills. The only thing I bother to play is this great music. The bass in all these songs is great and it contains great gutiar. Of coarse it isn't the most elaberate instramentals but when you add in the great vocals it's a winning C.D. It's a shame they didn't make it big but if your looking for a break from the modern pop crap that's out their this is the C.D. for you.

(she was commenting on a Zombies singles collection.)

Discuss...because I would love to hear how people feel about this.

cheers,

Ian

• Members

It seems to me that Gen-Xers were the first people I noticed who often were, as a rule, more into the past (in their musical tastes) than the present. FWIW, all three of my brother's kids (the oldest of whom is 11) prefer The Beatles to any other recording artists.

Four initial reactions:

1) I wonder what Cindy thinks now that she's a year and a half older. Tastes can change pretty rapidly during youth.

2) When I was 15, I hated much of the pop music of my time as well. ("Muskrat Love," "Seasons In The Sun," "Thank God I'm A Country Boy," etc.) I mostly was into progressive rock, jazz fusion, album oriented rock, and funk. Granted, unlike Cindy, the alternatives I chose were contemporary; but to a lesser extent, I also liked older forms of jazz and classical music.

3) The Zombies "didn't make it big?" I'd say they did pretty well.