Learning rubbish

blackpig

• Members

How do people here about having to learn rubbish songs because a customer wants them? I've got a gig at a wedding next week and the happy couple want me to sing a couple of second rate cheesy ballads made popular by Christy Moore. Part of me says the customer is always right and should get what they pay for; another part (slightly larger) says I'm a musician, not a whore. The piper I play with took the gig and thought it was ok to do this stuff - but then he's not the one doing the singing. I can't believe that these people want this drivel sung in the church - during the actual ceremony! Maybe I'm a snob...but I bet there'll be live nude mud wrestling during the reception.:rolleyes:

• Members

Well, learning stuff you don't like for a wedding is easy, because you'll probably never have to sing it again. That said, since you'll never have to sing it again, I wouldn't hesitate to use a cheat sheet on a music stand for that part of the performance if you need to.

Weddings are special gigs...the bride and groom often like some cheesy song, but it's their day, y'know. (shrug)

Chin up... :D

• Members

Copulating Snails and the Garlic Butter Boys. I intend to use a faker's sheet on a music stand - there is a danger, however, that someone is going to ask me to sing this {censored}e again at a gig somewhere - "sure ye did it at Gobdaw's wedding". Do it once and you'll be haunted forever. Some songs I steadfastly refuse to sing:

The Wild Rover

Boolavogue

The Fields of Athenry

If You're Irish Come Into the Parlour

Any "rebel" song

Danny Boy

If they want this sort of crap at their wedding they should hire a third rate pub ballad group. This is a solemn and holy ceremony taking place in a church, for God's sake. These slappers seem blind to the fact that on the day they make their vows they are going to mar the proceedings with music that can only be described as plumbing the lowest depths of snivelling mediocrity.