What should I charge?

• Members

I've just been given the opportunity to do the soundtrack for a local indie short film and I have no idea what to charge. I would actually love to do this for a living so this should be a good way to get my feet wet.

I'll be doing everthing myself...the composition, the performing, and the recording. Being that I've never done this sort of thing before, do I charge by the hour? If so, what's the going rate for something like this? Or should I charge a flat rate? And then what about the rights...after I copyright everything (which I've dealt with before), should I charge extra and sell the rights? Or should I check into the whole licensing thing (which I HAVEN'T dealt with before)?

Aside from selling my own albums, I've never sold my music to other people for their projects so I'm a bit in the dark. Any advice will be appreciated!

• Members

Indie has become such a vague term on it's own that more info would be necessary. If you are talking about being hired by a 2nd year film student still in college, you are probably going to be lucky to get $200 out of the kid, and you best copyright everything you compose (for any job, really).

If this is more of a backed production, for a corporation or just well funded, then you are talking in the thousand(s) area, but that usually involves a licenser or publisher, which if you haven't been actively soliciting them, you wouldn't be getting that kind of job anyways.. so back to what I said before that...

As far as licensing, you need an entertainment lawyer to draw up contracts that name you as teh copyright owner, selling usage and distribution rights, but have them insert verbage that ties additional royalties to the success of the production, if it has any.

Good luck

• Members