OK, I hate my texas specials, what do I want??

chiro972

• Members

I bought custom shop texas specials for my tele because I like to play blues, but I don't like them. I guess they are too hot. they sound harsh. I'm not really a chicken picker, so I thought I didn't need that tele twang, but I would like a sweeter tone.

Anyone know what I might want that have nice tone but can get a little gritty? I can't spend too much so Fralins are out. Anything from GFS or BG or any other suggestions?

I guess I need a more vintage tone?? I am really not a tone expert, so maybe my question doesn't make sense. I just know I don't like these Texas specials.

Thanks!

• Members

I'm no fan of the Texas Specials, but before you throw them out entirely, have you tried rolling the volume knob on the guitar down to 6 or 7 or 8? I'd try putting the knob on 7 and playing like that for an entire day. Just do all you can to try to get used to them.

Do you like the sound of the Vintage Noisless pickups in your Deluxe Players, or do you want something more lively and/or more vintage sounding than those?

The next pickups I try will be the Vintage 60s from BG. If I were to go with a set of GFS pickups, I'd go for the '64 Stagger Vintage Grey-Bottom boutique Strat Set or the Premium II Alnico II, Hand Bevelled Strat Set.

• Members

I think a lot of the "harshness" of the texas specials comes from their strong midrangey sound. I have a couple sets in 2 strats, and I was able to dial this out a bit with the amp EQ and guitar tone pot. On these strats I put the tone pots around 4-5, not 10. Makes a big difference. One the amps, I cut the mids down a bit.

• Members

I have had the same problem with the same pickups. I like the Fender vintage noiseless but not the cobalt noiseless. The vintage noiseless has a great open bluesy sound in the neck position. I liked it so well that I put one in the neck position of a strat.

Surfy

• Members