Gibson Melody Maker Reissue - Refinish

jonreedsoula1

• Members

Hi everyone,

I have a 2009 reissue sunburst Melody maker which is a cool guitar but I don't really like the finish which is dull with a very thin coat of nitro. I've looked at buying a vintage one as the paint job and finish on these look amazing, but due to the price I'm sticking with the reissue for now.

I've just order some Gerlitz no1 guitar wax, will I be able to get a nice glossy look with this? The other option I understand is to apply some nitro myself, I've no experience in doing this though and sounds like it could easily go wrong.

Has anyone ever achieved a nice shine on a Melody maker purely using wax? Or by any other method? Very grateful for any advice.

Cheers!

• Members

I realize having a guitar shine might be something you might desire, but the difficulty refinishing or over-spraying really isn't something you want to mess with, especially if you have no experience doing it.

First, Once a guitars been waxed, you have to strip the wax off to get a new finish to stick to it. Many waxes also contain silicones and oils which prevent lacquer from properly adhering to it. This usually requires you sand into the existing finish to roughen it up. Seeing this is a thin finished guitar that likely takes you down to the wood.

Applying a proper finish and getting it to look as good as a new guitar is not easy. I been doing builds and finishing/refinishing guitars for 45+ years and its the one thing I dread the most. Its time consuming, unforgiving and expensive. I often avoid it by using simpler finishes like Tung oil which can be wiped on instead of spraying.