drums in the mix........setting help please.

• Members

drums in the mix........setting help please. I am new to running sound. But I do know a good sound person can make or break it for a drummer. I was wondering if theres is any helpful info on settings on the board as well as the eq's specifically for the toms and drums in general.....what to look for, and what not in good sounding drums. thanks

• Members

There are some "basic" guides on how to EQ toms but I can tell you they're not always right. It all depends on too many factors to really nail it down to something simple.

Starting with your EQ strip flat is a good starting point. 3 - 6kHz is typically going to be your "attack" zone. Adding in high end and low end is a matter of taste and personal preference. I tend to add a touch of high end to help with clarity. Low end depends on what tom and what sound I'm going for. I like a lot of bottom end on floor toms. I love a floor tom that will sustain for a few seconds after being struck.

Trust your ears!

As far as where to put the drums in the mix. I like kick almost out front in the mix. Mix to taste, NOT overdone or too much. This is pretty important if it's a dance type band. Snare and Hi hat are pretty dominant in my mixes as well.. Considering these all play major roles in the entire foundation of the band. Toms are noticeably lower in the mix but they're loud enough to notice when a drummer does a fill.

Obviously, you never want vocals being squashed by anything..especially drums!

I think getting a good drum tone is probably the hardest thing to do as far as mixing a band goes. You can leave guitar, bass and vox flat and it usually sounds acceptable. Perhaps not "good" but acceptable.

Once again, trust your ears!

• Members