Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommend me some good scifi books

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse









X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Recommend me some good scifi books

    Inspired by the horror movie thread, recommend me some "not so serious" scifi in the vein of PK Dick, Harry Harrison and Robert Anton Wilson.
    | Destination : Destruction | Kalmanväki | Luujauho | Clips | Youtube | Gear |

  • #2
    +1 Harry Harrison

    Sorry, that's all I got...
    Originally Posted by KCTigerChief


    Rock hardness called that one









    Originally Posted by guitarbilly74


    But then again, it's the internet and everyone is a hunk with a 12" cock, great job, fast car, hot gf and loads money in the bank and Mila Kunis has pointy knees.

    Comment


    • #3
      Not sure if it fits, but I lurves me some Heinlein.
      Originally Posted by scratchie


      Youse gots butthurtz cause youse gots too meeny deeks stuck in you mans poosie.

      Comment


      • #4
        My favorite book is Margaret Attwood's Oryx and Crake. It's a post apocalyptic tale, basically it starts at the end and through a serious of flashbacks you get to how the world ended at the end of the book. Her stuff is very realistic, so it's very easy to imagine her vision coming true. It's a great read and the prose is outstanding, along the lines of Brave New World.
        Here's my gear:
        Amps
        Engl SE EL34; Engl Powerball V1; Marshall JCM 800 2204 Cameron Aldrich Mod;Mesa Triaxis V2.0;Mesa 50/50 Power amp;Carvin Legacy Head;Lee Jackson XLA 1000;ADA MP1, Mesa and Marshall Cabs
        Guitars
        Guild x170;Ibanez Universe;Ibanez Usa Custom;Ibanez prestige 2020x;Ibanez RG760;Fender USA B-Bender Tele;Kramer Focus 3000;Ovation Legend;Alverez 12 string;Fender J Bass Fretless

        Comment


        • #5
          Not sure if it fits, but I lurves me some Heinlein.


          Thanks! I knew of his books but never for some reason bought any. I think I'll make a trip to amazon.
          | Destination : Destruction | Kalmanväki | Luujauho | Clips | Youtube | Gear |

          Comment


          • #6
            Thanks! I knew of his books but never for some reason bought any. I think I'll make a trip to amazon.


            I still don't understand why there is no Ringworld movie.

            Come on James Cameron, you ****************************. oke:
            Originally Posted by scratchie


            Youse gots butthurtz cause youse gots too meeny deeks stuck in you mans poosie.

            Comment


            • #7
              If you like Star Trek and/or Star Wars check out Foundation-Isaac Asimov. Anything from The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. Kurt Vonnegut-Sirens of Titan, Cats Cradle, Slaughterhouse 5. World War Z is a decent read and fairly popular right now.
              Some cool local bands in my area

              http://www.myspace.com/vorefare
              http://www.myspace.com/rwake
              http://www.myspace.com/****************fire
              http://www.myspace.com/mulattorus
              http://www.myspace.com/nongratametal

              Comment


              • #8
                The Whipping Star(Frank Herbert) is good.

                Not as serious as Dune(My all time favorite), cool sci-fi nice touch of irony in the story.
                Originally Posted by Jimmy James


                Or you can try living on the southside of Chicago on eight dollars a month and learn some real blues phrases.



                YouTube • Soundclick

                Comment


                • #9
                  Have you read the entire Stainless Steel Rat series? The later ....Goes to Hell and such werent great but the originals were fantastic.

                  Also try The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher, not really sci-fi but has the same irreverant feel as the Stainless Steel Rat stuff. You could also try the Nightside series by Simon R Green. If you are more into Heinlein-ish stuff try Paul Melko's The Walls of the Universe.
                  www.lastchanceisrock.com


                  Brand new cd ...And Then It Rains now available
                  here>>> http://cdbaby.com/cd/lastchance2

                  And also on iTunes and Napster


                  Rogue Analog Delay $25 shipped





                  Good traders: KLeeneX, Solcat, DARKMETL/,Procreatur,TheAmazingBlob,SnoMan97,Steve the Hero, NITROHOLIC, jrcorp,madryan,iblastoff,Doctor Morbius,teletaylor

                  Bad trader ontariomaximus(Randy Fay of Phaez Amps)

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Have you read the entire Stainless Steel Rat series? The later ....Goes to Hell and such werent great but the originals were fantastic.

                    Also try The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher, not really sci-fi but has the same irreverant feel as the Stainless Steel Rat stuff. You could also try the Nightside series by Simon R Green. If you are more into Heinlein-ish stuff try Paul Melko's The Walls of the Universe.


                    Yeah I think I have all of the SSR books. Thanks for the suggestions!
                    | Destination : Destruction | Kalmanväki | Luujauho | Clips | Youtube | Gear |

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Yeah I think I have all of the SSR books. Thanks for the suggestions!


                      I think you are the 3rd person ive ever met thats actually read the SSR books, usually when i recommend them i get odd looks.
                      www.lastchanceisrock.com


                      Brand new cd ...And Then It Rains now available
                      here>>> http://cdbaby.com/cd/lastchance2

                      And also on iTunes and Napster


                      Rogue Analog Delay $25 shipped





                      Good traders: KLeeneX, Solcat, DARKMETL/,Procreatur,TheAmazingBlob,SnoMan97,Steve the Hero, NITROHOLIC, jrcorp,madryan,iblastoff,Doctor Morbius,teletaylor

                      Bad trader ontariomaximus(Randy Fay of Phaez Amps)

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Ben Bova's "Grand Tour" series is a lot of fun. Definitely read like old school sci fi.
                        Originally Posted by buddhapaugh


                        Rocking the spandex AND the depends!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          I've been reading a lot of the Warhammer 40k stuff recently. Fun & entertaining. Try The Grey Knights omnibus. I wouldn't recommend the William King offerings, tho.
                          My **bleep** hurts

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I've been reading a lot of the Warhammer 40k stuff recently. Fun & entertaining. Try The Grey Knights omnibus. I wouldn't recommend the William King offerings, tho.


                            I enjoyed the Ultramarines omnibus, too. WH books are REALLY hit or miss so be sure to read reader reviews.
                            Originally Posted by buddhapaugh


                            Rocking the spandex AND the depends!

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Ben Bova's "Grand Tour" series is a lot of fun. Definitely read like old school sci fi.


                              This to, especially the Mars, Venus and Saturn ones.
                              www.lastchanceisrock.com


                              Brand new cd ...And Then It Rains now available
                              here>>> http://cdbaby.com/cd/lastchance2

                              And also on iTunes and Napster


                              Rogue Analog Delay $25 shipped





                              Good traders: KLeeneX, Solcat, DARKMETL/,Procreatur,TheAmazingBlob,SnoMan97,Steve the Hero, NITROHOLIC, jrcorp,madryan,iblastoff,Doctor Morbius,teletaylor

                              Bad trader ontariomaximus(Randy Fay of Phaez Amps)

                              Comment



                              Working...
                              X