Harmony Central Forums
Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this camera store almost doing bait and switch?

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this camera store almost doing bait and switch?

I ordered this Nikon 18-200mm DX VR autofocus zoom lens from Express Cameras online for the absurdly low price of $549.

I get a call saying they need more info to process my order. I call, and suddenly, a salesman is saying, "I can't believe you didn't order the new 18-200mm lens...yadda yadda...it's much better, etc. etc. and bla bla bla."

I said I had never heard of that lens.

"Well, it's new! It's brand-new. It's coming out next week! Never been released in the U.S.!!"

I commented that if it's coming out next week, how would I have heard of it before?

"It's fantastic. Much better than the Nikon 18-200mm DX VR lens!! You won't be happy with that, believe me. I've been a professional photographer for 33 years! I'll tell you what. I'll ship it out to you now. Have a look at it on our website."

He directs me to the new lens that he's trying to sell me on their website. I'm looking at it, and it says, $1499, but he says he'll reduce it "by 50%!!" I notice that there's no brand name. It doesn't say Nikon. "It's a Sigma!" he says. "Great lens!"

I told him that I want the Nikon lens instead, but thank you very much for the advice. "You're making a mistake," he replies, "I can send you the Sigma for evaluation." I insist on the Nikon again. "Okay, we can send you the Nikon."

He then tells me that the the Nikon doesn't come with mounts. Huh? At this point, being early in the morning, I didn't need this. I just canceled the order.

Apparently, if it sounds too good to be true...