HELP with a vocal mic (to make my voice less bassy)

• Members

HI there,

I am a newbie here and need some expert advice!

Iam looking for a new vocal mic- as the ones I have emphasize more of the lower frequencies of my voice and end up making everything sound too much like Leonard Cohen...

I am looking primarily at a mic for live applications- the mixer we have has limited EQ so I was hoping for something that had higher freq attenuation.

I have a RODE NT1, and Shure SM 58 and both are a little more mid-bass heavy with my voice...

Any suggestions in the range up to $350 USD?

Graham,

graham.maureen@sympatico.ca

stuartg@alcdsb.on.ca

• Members

I don't know if you could use it live but I've got an AKG C-2000 which works great for me as I've got the same problem as you with my voice having way too much low mids and lows. The C-2000 has a hi pass at 500 Hz which just works perfect on my voice. WAAAAAAAAAAAAY higher than most all other mics that I know of.

• Members

You don't need a new mic. You need to take a half step back from the mic (or if you're holding it, pull it off your mouth about three more inches).

And then, if that doesn't work, you don't need to add EQ. You need to subtract a little in the low end (typically the 80Hz range). If your mic doesn't have a LF rolloff control, back it off on the mixer a tad.

Good luck. :)

• Members

Hey, wow, Jeff, those sound like great ideas!
;):D

In my defense, I'd started to reply before you, got a phone call, came back and wrote... exactly what you wrote, in a wordier fashion as I'm prone to do. :lol:

And then didn't see your post until mine went up. Great minds, of course, think alike. ;)

• Members

In my defense, I'd started to reply before you, got a phone call, came back and wrote... exactly what you wrote, in a wordier fashion as I'm prone to do.
:lol:

And then didn't see your post until mine went up. Great minds, of course, think alike.
;)

:D