NGD-Fender Japan 52 RI Tele (and I've already taken her apart)

chrispscott

• Members

Damn you HCEG. Someone posted a link to Ishibashi's used page the other day and this gorgeous TL52 was screaming my name. I've been jonesing for a 52RI for a few years now but the massive Fender pricehike has precluded me from picking one up. I had a 50s Classic Tele for a while which was a great guitar but it just wasn't a Blackguard ya know?

Anyway I placed the order last Wednesday and it showed up on at work here today. Amazing shipping time considering the fact that it came from half way around the world and that there was a Federal Holiday on Monday.

(excuse the photo quality I did not have my good camera on me)

Anyway she was a beautiful girl right out of the box and looked even better than the photos on Ishibashi's website.

P5260023.jpg

P5260020.jpg

It's a 3pc Ash body but the grain has been very well joined. It's got a poly finish which gives it kind of that candy coated look but that does not bother me too well. The pups are Texas Specials which I've never really had any experience with. When I plugged her in I dug the sound. A bit hotter and warmer than my SD Broadcaster but that works out pretty well for me actually. The neck is a soft V which tapers down a bit as you go higher up the neck. It's nice and slick and feels great. I have fairly small hands so a vintage radius actually works pretty well for me.

P5260024.jpg

She's obviously been well played. All of the hardware is pretty dulled from sweat but I don't mind. It means it means that it's been a genuinely well loved and played guitar.

P5260026.jpg

My only disappointment was in when I popped the hood on her.

P5260042.jpg

Mini-pots and a PCB board switch...bleh...but WAIT! The Texas Special neck pup is 3 conductor which means I can install a four-way switch for series and parallel like a Baja. Woohoo! To the guitar store.