Ibanez rg570 Is it worth it?

FarToMany

• Members

I found a used RG570 locally for $200. It seems like a decent price, its a little beat looking, but if it is a player it seems good from what little i have read about them. So is it worth it? i have zero experience with any Ibanez guitars except for my acoustic, but they have caught my eye lately. Opinions?

• Members

ibanez guitars always have the potential to play really nice/fast if they're set up ok...i like they way they feel most of the time...they tend sound a bit artificial though most of the rg's...they're pretty much designed to be super destorted...

but they do play nice...awesome practice guitar if the necks not bent...

• Members

my ibanez rg350 has an amazing sound clean from the neck pickup. Not in my hands, but when my cousin plays it :lol:

it has the infinity series pickups. A month and a half ago i had no ibanez guitars. I own 5 now.

Love them.

edit: also my first experience with a floyd type bridge. if you don't use the trem, don't buy one! setups are so much easier on hardtails.

• Members

I think i decided to pass on it for now, it is a japan '03 model, but needs a desperate setup, has alot of fret wear, needs both pots, and 5-way replaced, needs a trem arm and both knobs, and in general a good cleanup. I'd have probably another $100 give or take into it after i was done, and the thing would still look rough like C.C. Deville. If it was $150, i might have bit on it, but not right now, i have far to many guitars that dont get their just time playing now.

• Members

C.C. wasn't an Ibanez guy. He was a B.C. Rich guy. I'm sure he did have some Ibanezes, but he's best known for his B.C. Riches.

With those issues, I would have haggled em down to $150 and been thrilled with it. Of course, I hate that neck.. The Wizard neck is too thin for my hand, cramps it up. Great guitars if you can get along with the necks.

• Members