AFM Pay scales

TheLuxLife

• Members

It varies by local, doesn't it? At least , it used to.

Back in the day when I was a union musician in my home town, scale was 50 bucks a man per four hour performance. When I moved to Boise, it was 60. My buddy in Vegas made more, but they had a tier system, that is, some clubs were "c" clubs, where you started, then you went to "B" and then "A" and "AA" clubs, which were hard to get into because they were mostly show bands who backed up stars and had to read everything. I'm not sure what it is anymore, except pretty much irrlelevant.

• Moderators

Rates are local to local, and as BS mentioned there is a tier system in most major markets like NY, LA, Vegas, ...good money to be made at the upper levels...getting there is the secret ;)

The union generally takes your money, and provides you with a sense of security...but ask the long time Las Vegas AFM membership how they liked their last contract... :rolleyes:

I have been in the AFM, but have not been a dues paying member for many, many years. They don't guarantee you gigs, and whether you are gigging or not, you still need to keep your dues current. Most smaller venues are non-union, so unless you are making a living at it, the Union isn't going to be much good to you.

• Moderators

I started the thread b/c a producer heard me playing at a random music store, gave me his card and said "I need you...call me ASAP". Just wanted to get an idea of the scale in L.A. and it seems that would be Local 47:
http://www.promusic47.org/wage2/wageSR.htm

yep, that's our local...but is this producer willing to pay scale? I worked for a lot of smalltime producers in the 90s, and they had no idea what union scale was, so I charged them a flat half day rate, even though I might be there an hour or less...generally the 'top' producers here won't pick someone up who is not on 'the list'...

good luck, though...studio work can be a real grind...:cool:

• Members