How do you mic your drums?

Marko

• Members

If you only have 4 I would expand the recorder man method with one in the kick and one on the snare. On a 4 piece kit I have been putting a mic on every drum 2 over heads and 1 room mic and get good results. I've been learning to get a good mix going with the overheads and room mic and slowly bring up the close drum mics to fill in what is needed, most of the mix is all overheads and room, the close mics are just bringing in whats missing if that makes since. So really in a good sounding room with careful mic placement 4 mics would be plenty, and you would walk away with great recordings. I'm no expert at all, but I talked with a studio guy and that's what he explained to me, and it works, he was right.

• Members

I have used as many as 8, and as little as one, the 2 shown in the video, plus a kick mic is my usual set up, but when I use one, it is about a foot above my bass drum, and about a foot away, and that pics up the main drums, but I do have to move my china's around a little...

• Members

I've used the Glyn Johns method and got some really good results.

http://homerecording.about.com/od/recordingtutorials/a/glyn_johns.htm

Place your overhead about 3' to 5' over the set facing down toward the snare and a little back to the rack toms (I kind of split the difference). Measure the exact distance from the center of the snare head to the front of the mic. Now instead of placing the other mic to the side of the floor tom (try both placements and see which works better for you), put it behind the floor tom over your shoulder, a little lower then your shoulder and angled down at the top of the snare head. measure it and move it so that it's the same distance from the center of the snare to the front of the mic as the overhead is. Place the bass drum and snare mic to taste.

If you only have one condenser mic, I'd use that as the overhead.