Best Time to join a band

• Members

I'm getting into Bass after a few years meddling with the Guitar and was wondering how long I should leave it before I should think about joining or forming a band.

Im new to the Bass scene so dont want to embarrass myself by trying to join one to soon, should I give myself 5-8 months or so of practise first.

Im 21, am i too old to just start off in a band now or what, since all the successfull bands that are starting are a few years younger than me.

• Members

I hope you're not too old, because if you are then I'm way to old (almost 25). :eek:

i say join a band now for the sole purpose of getting better at bass. Once you feel comfortable with the instrument, find a better band. Plus if your luck's anywhere as bad as mine, it will take you about a year to find a decent band anyways. SO start looking now.

-Bird

• Members

21? Your carreer is over, you might as well forget it and start worrying about retirement funding, kid's tuition funds and social security.

DUDE! COME ON, 21?

I agree with BB, nothing better than to be in a band to learn. By yourself you can learn the technique. But in a band you'll learn to play standing, you'll learn to move while playing (if you play live), you'll learn to be a team player (listen to a drummer that doesn't play like a metronome), you'll learn to fine tune your sound, to find the gear that's the best for you, you'll learn music business, business music, how to communicate, how to deal with drunk drummers, how to deal with late drummers, how to deal with drummers and drugs, and how to deal with a singer's ego, and how to deal with a loud and obnoxious guitar player, and maybe if you're lucky how to deal with a drummer's girlfriend.

Then you'll grow tired of it and decide to quit. That's when you'll be ready to join a band (a real one).

Where are you located? I'm looking for a bass player, and although 21 is a little young, I'm sure that would be fine ;)

• Members