bass setup ( bass and some sort of amplification) advice needed

MintyTurtle24k

• Members

Hey guys!

I'm mainly a guitarist, but I'd like to get my hands on a decent bass setup both for recording and performing. I didn't wnat to spend too much money. Currently I just use a bass that my friend gave me into my guitar vamp into my computer for recording. I was thinking of maybe getting a brice or sx bass from rondomusic ( i love their agile guitars) and getting a rackmount Behringer bass v amp for recording and hooking it up to a cab for playing out with. Do you guys have any specific suggestions? I don't want anything too fancy, but something that will sound decent. Thanks!

• Members

SX/Brice are a good choice for a bass.

Is the Behringer just a preamp or is it an actual amp? I can't remember offhand. If its just a pre you'll need a power amp (more $).

Try Peavey or GK heads off of Ebay. GK 400RB heads often go for under $200. They are a good little amp as well.

Pair it with an Avatar cab. www.avatarspeakers.com. You don't want to use your guitar cab-bass frequencies rape guitar speakers to death. The 2x12 Avatar is a good stand-alone cab.

• Members

Originally posted by sunburstbasser

SX/Brice are a good choice for a bass.

Is the Behringer just a preamp or is it an actual amp? I can't remember offhand. If its just a pre you'll need a power amp (more $).

Try Peavey or GK heads off of Ebay. GK 400RB heads often go for under $200. They are a good little amp as well.

Pair it with an Avatar cab.
www.avatarspeakers.com.
You don't want to use your guitar cab-bass frequencies rape guitar speakers to death. The 2x12 Avatar is a good stand-alone cab.

+1!

• Members

Originally posted by MintyTurtle24k

I believe the vamps are just preamps

Then if you don't need the effects you find in the V-Amp, a good choice would be a SansAmp Bass Driver I guess... Some people here have does and like them alot.

• Members

150321.jpg