The Wattage Game

Kdogg

• Members

Okay, I've been playing bass for the past ten years or so, and I am currently playing in an originals rock band. The band consists of me, the drummer, two guitars, and a lead singer. I've just purchased an SWR SM-500 off ebay, and I am trying to decide on the appropriate cab to use with it. My dilemna is trying to figure what wattage cab I should be considering. The SM-500 puts out 500 watts at 4 ohms, and 400 watts at 8 ohms, this according to the owners manual. I'm interested in the Goliath III 4x10 cabinet. However, this particular cabinet is rated at 700 watts and is 8 ohms.

Would I be under powering this cab? The owners manual suggests 2 Goliath III's with this head, but I can't understand how that would not tax the amplifier, even though it would give you a 4 ohm load and so run the amp at 500 watts. Am I misunderstanding the whole amps/ohms/watts thing? Is there some kind of ratio one should use to determine how much power you will need for a given cabinet? What would be the optimal amplifier for an 8 ohm 700 watt cabinet?

My current rig is an SWR Silverado 2x12 combo. It's running 350 watts into a 4 ohm cabinet. I love the sound and tone, but I'm finding I need a bit more volume during our live shows.

I hope this post makes a little sense...

• Members

There is no such thing as under-powering. What you can do is clip the amp, but this happens when you run a solid state amp around 9 or 10 for a while. With the proper EQ, running the 4x10 and maybe a 1x15 underneath it will be plenty of volume.

The cab wattage is, I believe, more a general estimate as to where it'll run best at more than a DO NOT EXCEED wattage.

• Members