Pick Advice

fishmanrod

• Members

Hey! Advice needed, pick style players!!!!

I've been a finger style player forever (so years), but I want to start doing some pick style for some tunes, for versatility, some speed, and the sound difference. I'm having real issues getting it done, though. Mostly I am playing new rock and some classic rock.

I feel like a total noob doing this, I can't play anything with a pick yet with fingers it is sooo easy!

First issue, do people tend to palm the bridge, like most do playing guitar, or do you suspend your hand over the strings. Picking is mostly a combination or wrist/figer movement, right? I find if I palm the bridge I have no wrist action in it, but when I suspend my hand I sort of loose my place.

Pick selection. I have tried heavy (seems to jam on the strings, I can't pick through them) and felt (just 'felt' weird, and too stiff) and really light (seemed to drag over the string, did not get a good feel, seemed to have no control). Any suggestions on what seems to work best? This is NOT like picking the old six string!

How hard do people tend to play with a pick? I am a very heavy player finger style, I REALLY dig in, and going to the pick I just want to play lighter for some reason, maybe because the highs are so much brighter I am backing off naturally. Yet I see some pick style players just wailing on it. Is that typical, is pick syle played harder than finger style?

I know, that is pretty general. Any advice greatly appreciated, especially from someone who plays both ways, or has converted from one to the other!

Cheers!

• Members

... but seriously, I've been a fingerstyle player for 30+ years and only use a pick rarely. I personally like a medium pick and use it sideways so the rounded end is the picking surface. You will have to try the various thicknesses and materials for yourself to determine what's best for you. YMMV... Good luck! :thu:

• Members